Favorite Things Galentine’s Day Party

Favorite Things Galentine's Day Party- The Traveling Runner's Blog

Dress: Anthropology

I LOVE Favorite Things Parties and I had been dying to throw one since I moved to Houston. We have lived here for seven months now and I haven’t thrown a single party except for Theo’s first birthday party back in August. This year I made a resolution to entertain more since I love it so much, and to find joy in celebrating life.

Favorite Things Galentine's Day Party- The Traveling Runner's Blog

In case you are unfamiliar with a Favorite Things Party, each party guest picks one of their favorite things and brings three of them to the party. At the party, each guest puts their name into a drawing bowl three times. Each guest shares why they picked their item, then draws three names to receive their items. At the end of the night, each guest goes home with three different items. We set the budget around $5 (so $15 total for all three). You can have guests bring more than three of their item (bringing more means going home with more) but I decided to go with three.

Favorite Things Galentine's Day Party- The Traveling Runner's Blog

Since Valentine’s Day is around the corner, I wanted to do a “Galentine’s Day” theme. I immediately thought of all of the fun candy and wanted to have a mini candy bar for guests to be able to take home sweets at the end of the party. I picked out all of the unique candies at Central Market, and they were delicious (I may have snuck some samples in the store to make sure I was getting good stuff!). I also filled the larger jars with less expensive candies such as Swedish Fish and frosted animal cookies. I purchased my set of pink candy scoops from Hobby Lobby.

Valentine's Day Candy Bar- The Traveling Runner's Blog

Valentine's Day Candy Bar- The Traveling Runner's Blog

Favorite Things Galentine's Day Party- The Traveling Runner's Blog

This floral bowl is from Target and the red bowls are from Crate and Barrel.

Valentine's Day Candy Bar- The Traveling Runner's Blog

Since my mom was in town last week, we spent Theo’s nap times preparing for the party! We purchased the beautiful heart confetti and the heart garland from Paper Source (my new favorite store!). The beautiful floral arrangements were done by the talented florists at Central Market. They are so sweet, I was able to pick my roses and white hydrangeas, then they filled in the rest after I picked my size vase. For my mini arrangement, the florist hurried and grabbed the last of these cute little vases for me. They are wonderful, I highly recommend going there for fresh, beautiful flowers.

Galentine's Day Party- The Traveling Runner's Blog
Galentine's Day Party- The Traveling Runner's Blog

My mom also brought the banners that I hung from my ceiling. She made all of them for my wedding (almost five years ago!), and I am saving them for my daughter’s nursery. They are so pretty and I can’t bring myself to take them down.

Favorite Things Galentine's Day Party- The Traveling Runner's Blog

Favorite Things Galentine's Day Party- The Traveling Runner's Blog

I am obsessed with cake pedestals and domes and I love collecting them. I decorated one of my domes with a Valentine’s display using supplies from Hobby Lobby and Target.

Favorite Things Galentine's Day Party- The Traveling Runner's Blog

Favorite Things Galentine's Day Party- The Traveling Runner's Blog

For food, since the party was thrown in the evening I wanted to have fruit and veggie trays and lots of treats! I made my mom’s red velvet cupcakes, dipped rice crispy treats, and creme brûlée cupcakes from the Sprinkles Baking Book. Seriously Candace would have been so proud, they turned out amazing! (And thank you to my sweet friend Bailee for coming over and being the brave one to use the torch!). I love these little chalk board signs I found in the dollar section at Target! Pack of four for only $3, yes please!

Favorite Things Galentine's Day Party- The Traveling Runner's Blog

Favorite Things Galentine's Day Party- The Traveling Runner's Blog

Favorite Things Galentines Day Party- The Traveling Runner's Blog

For drinks, I made sparkling cranberry cider. I like drinks that I can hurry and mix together right before the party starts and serving them in milk bottles adds a fun touch. I love using these babies whenever I can!

Favorite Things Galentine's Day Party- The Traveling Runner's Blog

These banners were only $3 each from Target. I bought the sparkly heart garland from Michael’s a couple of years ago for my pregnancy announcement. The pinwheels are from Hobby Lobby.

Favorite Things Galentine's Day Party- The Traveling Runner's Blog

I made this “Favorite Things” sign using paper from Hobby Lobby and stickers from Target. Paper at Hobby Lobby was 50% off, so I went through with my mom and picked a bunch of fun paper to make my banners. I also used the paper for my sweets banners and to wrap the milk bottles, and I used the scraps for the drawing.

Favorite Things Galentine's Day Party- The Traveling Runner's Blog

I learned that I am HORRIBLE at frosting bundt cakes and making cellophane look pretty!

The heart pillow is from Target and is now decorating my bed. I am in love, the smaller pillow is also from Target.

Favorite Things Galentine's Day Party- The Traveling Runner's Blog

My white table cloth is from Target and the the floral fabric on top is from Hobby Lobby. I also used a strip of the fabric as a table runner for my “Favorite Things” table.

Favorite Things Galentine's Day Party- The Traveling Runner's Blog

Favorite Things Galentine's Day Party- The Traveling Runner's Blog

Favorite Things Galentine's Day Party- The Traveling Runner's Blog

Favorite Things Galentine's Day Party- The Traveling Runner's Blog

I used the Heidi Swapp Minc Machine to make my sign, I love how the white foil stands out on the black paper!

Favorite Things Galentine's Day Party- The Traveling Runner's Blog

I used scraps of paper from my banners and wrapped milk bottles for the name drawing papers.

I had so much fun laughing and chatting with all of the girls. On the day of any party I throw I am on my feet all day long and I love it! I could spend hours setting up and rearranging every little thing in my home to get ready for my guests. I love putting on a fun party that allows us girls to get out of the house, laugh about awkward postpartum bodily malfunctions, and just have fun being together!

Here’s a list of the “Favorite Things” from the party:
Mini cake pedestal with a red velvet bundt cake (mine)
Flour sack dish towels
Sharpies & markers
Mini wet brush
Glass-bottled sparkling water
Body Wash
Soap
Water Bottle
Baby Oil & Baby Powder
Mini Journal
Candy
Dry Shampoo
Candles

Cheers to great party guests and a fantastic weekend!

-Makenzie

One thought on “Favorite Things Galentine’s Day Party

Leave a Reply

