Sick Days at Home

The Traveling Runner's Blog

The Traveling Runner's Blog

The Traveling Runner's Blog

The Traveling Runner's Blog

The Traveling Runner's Blog

The Traveling Runner's Blog

The Traveling Runner's Blog

The Traveling Runner's Blog

The Traveling Runner's Blog

The Traveling Runner's Blog

The Traveling Runner's Blog

Baby Shower Guest Book- The Traveling Runner's Blog

The Traveling Runner's Blog

dsc_0035

We are happy to be home and I am happy to see my sweet boy playing and mostly healthy, mismatched pj’s and all! I have been sick for the past three weeks, going from a 24-hour stomach bug, to a cold, to a virus, to a viral infection. Staying up too late, stress, and not getting enough sleep hit me HARD while we were in Colorado for Christmas.

Theo and I both started out with colds that are still running out of our systems. Fortunately, Todd only had the 24-hour stomach bug. Every time I had been on the mend and started running again, I went down. I got to Colorado with a bad cough and Theo had a fever and a diaper rash. We were a mess, my poor parents! I probably would have cancelled our flights had I known we would be that sick. Theo didn’t sleep well and he normally takes long naps and always sleeps through the night even when he is sick. And when Theo doesn’t sleep, mom doesn’t sleep!

On Sunday (Christmas) I thought we were on the mend, I had an incredibly sore throat, but the cough was going away and the pain was manageable. Then that night, I woke up with burning hands itching like crazy! I felt like an insane person itching my hands and trying to figure out why they were on fire! I thought it was all in my head, then I thought I was having an allergic reaction to the glitter I used on my gingerbread house that night. I was up till four in the morning and finally dozed off and slept for a few hours. I bought creams and got on two different medications.

Tuesday morning rolled around and it was even worse! My hands itched so badly and now the rash was very visible. And I had a rash that looked like Chicken Pox spring up on my backside (TMI?). My hands hurt so badly that I couldn’t touch anything, I couldn’t even pull my own pants up! Of course this was the day that we were flying home, so I had to make it through the airport and sit on a plane looking like I had Leprosy. Again, I thought I was still having an allergic reaction at this point, or there’s no way I would have traveled. Naturally I got stopped by TSA for a pat down, I guess mass amounts of Cortizone cream shows up as explosive material. By the time we landed, it was all I could do to keep from crying. Having to sit still on a plane in the middle seat was TORTURE. As if traveling with a baby isn’t hard enough, poor Todd.

Dragging all of our luggage out to the curb to meet the Uber was the final straw, my hands were burning and nothing could calm them down. It was like pins and needles and all I wanted to do was crawl out of my skin! When the driver pulled up and we got in the car, I asked Todd for my phone, and after a moment of searching he realized he had left it on the plane! I started bawling at this point, I’m sure the Uber driver thought I was insane, but I didn’t care. My hands were on fire with some crazy rash that was spreading and my phone was gone!

When we got home, I ran to the bathroom to run my hands under cold water (the only way to get any kind of relief at this point). Todd decided I needed to see a doctor and hopefully get on a medication that could provide some relief. Fortunately we were able to drop Theo off with our sweet friends before rushing to the Emergent Care. After some tests and blood work, they concluded that I had a viral infection, wrote me another, much stronger prescription, and sent me on my way (I won’t go into the details about how the nurse forgot my strep test swab and we had to wait an extra 45 minutes, or how I had to pull my pants down to show this awful rash all over my behind, TMI?).

So an antibiotic, a Steroid, and an antihistamine later, my hands are swollen and still rashy and uncomfortable, but no longer burning. I can finally open and touch most things without being in pain. I still have a while until this rash “runs its course” and is completely gone, but at least I know that long term, I am going to be okay.  I can’t say that this has been my favorite Christmas ever, but maybe I’ll look back in a few years and laugh?

We had a great time in Colorado despite being sick. Now all I want to do is get better so I can start this new year off on the right foot. 2016 was a doozy, so I’m not surprised it ended so badly, though I had hoped to ring in 2017 in better health and feeling more like me and less like a crazy person with my heart racing one minute and then falling asleep the next (meds!).

I’m grateful for Todd, I wouldn’t have survived the past few days without him. He came home from work and took Theo to the grocery store after dinner and came home with flowers to brighten my somber mood.

I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas/holiday week and that your New Year’s Eve is more exciting and eventful than mine. Cheers!

-Makenzie

Leave a Reply

