Halloween Party

Mother and Son Halloween Costume- Mickey and Minnie Mouse

Micky and Minnie Mouse Mother/Son Costume

I know it’s August (and still extremely HOT in Houston) but I am already thinking about Halloween and planning out our costumes! I love fall and even though we will most likely be trick-or-treating in shorts, I can’t wait for my favorite holiday. Last year, we threw a Halloween party for all of our friends in Chapel Hill and we had a blast!

Mickey and Goofy Costume- Father/Son Halloween Costume

This was our second Halloween Party, and I think every party needs a photo booth. I hung a table cloth from the Halloween section in Target as the back drop. I also found the banner at Target. I purchased the props on Amazon, I know there are free printouts to make your own, but I feel like after using paper, ink, and purchasing the sticks, I would have spent the same amount of money. I love our Polaroid camera and we make sure to set out boxes of Polaroids so everyone can take a few home as party favors.

DIY Halloween Photo Booth

Halloween DIY Photo Booth

Halloween DIY Photo Booth

Halloween DIY Photo Booth

I created a Halloween Jeopardy Game with trivia questions ranging from the origins of Halloween to popular Halloween songs. You can download my PowerPoint version of the game below.

Todd really wanted to do a donut eating contest (throwing it back to his childhood) so he totally ran the game and almost everyone played! We used twine to string up glazed donuts out on our deck. The winner won a box of Boo Berry cereal.

Halloween Party Game Prizes

Halloween Donut Eating Contest

We also always have a Halloween Costume Contest and have everyone cast their votes for their favorite costume. This encourages everyone to go all out and we have seen some amazing costumes! Here were some of our favorites:

dsc_0116 dsc_0086 dsc_0081 dsc_0095

I wanted to turn my favorite brownie recipe into Halloween brownies. I used the Pioneer Woman’s knock you naked brownie recipe, the caramel and nutty centers are incredible and the recipe is easy to follow. After the brownies had cooled for a few hours, I mixed crushed Oreo and a little melted butter to make the “dirt” topping. I added in a few gummy worms to complete the look.

Halloween Brownies

I had never made apple cider before, but I love the caramel apple cider at Starbucks and found this recipe to try for the party. It was delicious! I served it in disposable, to-go coffee cups from the dollar store so I could send some home with guests after the party.

Halloween Carmel Apple Cider

I used this Witch’s Brew Recipe for the punch. It was easy to make and we flew threw it. I feel like I never have enough punch, it’s like a high school dance from the 90’s!

Witch's Brew- Halloween Party

Easy Witch's Brew- Halloween Party

The rest of the decorations were purchased from Target, Amazon, or the Dollar Store. Seriously counting down the days till Halloween, can’t wait to show you our costumes!

**Theo’s Mickey Mouse costume and my Minnie ears are from Disney World. I found Todd’s Goofy hat and my red tutu on Amazon. For Todd’s Goofy outfit, I took one of my old cardigans and cut of the sleeves.**

-Makenzie

halloween-jeopordy

Leave a Reply

